Spring Break-Panama City Beach From a Christian’s Perspective

It is Spring Break 2015 season! Many students are flocking to the beaches for hopes of some sunshine and good times with close friends. I took an adventure to Panama City Beach, FL; which is the spring break capital in the USA. Through the lens of a Christian viewpoint, I discovered a few interesting things.

Located along the Gulf of Mexico, Panama City Beach has a bad reputation for partying and drunken debauchery, but as a Christian I was not afraid to venture to the location. Many times Christians slap the label “bad” on locations like these and shy away from any form of association. If you are a level headed mature adult in your faith with Jesus Christ then an event at PCB will not damn you to hell. Many there need to see Christ because they are either attempting to distract themselves or are more lost than they even know.

I went out to dinner with my friends, I sat on the beach with my toes in the sand, and I enjoyed the memories with my friends. Yes, there were drunk people there, there were absolutely insane people there too. But the whole time I was there one verse stood out to me the most, reoccurring in my mind.

John 17:15-18 “I do not ask You to take them out of the world, but to keep them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. Sanctify them in the truth; Your word is truth. As You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.”

I was in the middle of a location where many people needed help. I had a blast, and I also ministered to people along the way. I was able to help a girl who was out of it get a cab, I talked to the ones left out, and I loved people. The ultimate calling is to love others as Christ loved you. As a Christian, I challenge you to not be afraid to go into the world and be an example. PCB- I will miss you, and Jesus loves you.

Leave a comment