23 Year-old, Homeless by choice for the sake of Jesus

Professional photographer and blogger Michael Portugal, is not your average 23 year-old. In fact, he has decided to remain homeless since the summer of 2012 to serve the homeless community by sharing the love of Christ. He raises awareness through his photography.

Portugal was born in Elizabeth, NJ and seven years later moved to Ft. Lauderdale, FL where he currently resides. His journey has been spent in over 38 states since being homeless.

(Follow Michael Portugal on Twitter/ Instagram: @portugal777 )

 Through photojournalism, Portugal has experience with a variety of camera equipment but his favorite is a Nikon One Touch- point and shoot. He prefers shooting analog because it captures “raw and to the point photos,” Portugal said. “It isn’t digital pictures creating image, but light exposing an image. That is why I prefer the Nikon One Touch.”

Portugal was able to use photojournalism to speak at multiple churches and inspire people to embrace those who are outcastes.

Currently, Michael Portugal is in the process of having photos published in News Week and News Week Japan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“One event in particular was a humbling experience,” Portugal said. Through a local art exhibit in his hometown, Portugal dramatically displayed his photos of the homeless community of Ft. Lauderdale, FL.

According to Portugal, many people who attended the exhibit recognized those that were photographed. “It was cool because the people attending the exhibit actually saw those people who usually go unseen,” Portugal said.

Q & A:

How do you raise awareness for the homeless community? Do you feel that social media, blogging, FB, Twitter, all play roles in what you are doing?

“It’s a huge deal because I am able to have a platform to share what I’m doing to inspire others. I am also able to receive help for myself through social media. People ask if I need anything on my homeless journey. I have been sent hammocks, tents, and even money for food.”

How active were you with your photo blogging?

“I have a photo blog but I struggle with having multiple social media sites because it is a lot of work. I stick to Instagram because a lot of times I wont have Wi-Fi, so I need to post my images fast. Instagram is a blog in a sense because you put text and photos so it is the same thing I would do on Tumblr. I choose Instagram in comparison to Tumblr because my following is much larger.”

What made you decide to leave everything to minister to the homeless?

“Growing up in a Christian home I was always in and out of church. I was constantly learning the ways of Christ and one day got to a point where I wanted to absolutely live out what Jesus was saying. I saw how much Jesus had a heart for the outcast society and I wanted to be the same example that Jesus was back then to the people now.”

What do you have to say to people who view what you are doing, and do not agree with what you believe?

“I hope that people can one day realize that life isn’t about what they perceive as right. There are lots of ways to live and its important to be open minded to what people are doing. If someone wants to live a life of love, let them live their own lives and do what they are doing.”

What has been your favorite part and least favorite part about this journey?

“My favorite part is seeing the teachings of the bible come to life in the homeless community.”

“My least favorite part is seeing people suffer, whether it is addictions, death, or violence on the streets.”

What change have you seen in the peoples lives that you touch because of your ministry?

“People give what they receive, so when I go in and give them love and show them compassion or grace, it compels them to reflect that back to the people they encounter. I have seen people forgive people and try to get clean of addictions because of it.”

Can you ever bounce back into normal society after a journey like this?

“I can adapt and sometimes it takes more time. But I will always have the teachings and lessons I have learned that I can share with others, whether it’s on the job or in the streets.”

How hard is it to make other people see the state of the homeless society? 

“It depends on the person. Some people will look at my images and mock the person in the photo but they are not sensitive to see the beauty or suffering of the human being. But some people will look and see the person and the addiction, and see the person outside the gallery too. So it ultimately depends on the individual.”

Where do you hope to see yourself in the future with photojournalism?

“I just want people to be inspired to go out and meet the beautiful people in the community that have been outcastes. It doesn’t matter if my photos are in News Week magazine or Instagram. I forever want my social media followers to be inspired and challenged to make a change.”

“I want people to be challenged to embrace the people that they have out casted.”

Leave a comment